Our story

notre-histoire

Tamarind was born from the desire of two sisters to unite their passion and ambition. The first, a talented chef, wanted to share her passion for the cuisine of her homeland. The second, who grew up in France, allied her ambition with a sense of reconnecting with her roots.

The restaurant, with it’s strong recent history, is first and foremost, a tribute to their mother, who was an exceptional chef in Thailand. Hailing from the region of Phetchabun, famous for the cultivation of tamarind, each season the best varieties of this iconic fruit are chosen, with which to subtly flavour dishes with its signature combination of sweetness and tartness.

The common desire to share their family heritage helps to create dishes that are innovative yet traditional. The kitchen has undoubtedly evolved over time, yet has remained faithful to its pursuit of elegance and taste.

Notre histoire

notre-histoire

Tamarind est né de l’envie de deux sœurs d’unir passion et ambition. L’une, talentueuse cuisinière, souhaitait faire partager son amour pour les plats de son pays. La seconde, qui a grandi en France, était animée d’un désir d’entreprendre tout en renouant avec ses racines.

Ce restaurant à l’histoire forte est avant tout un hommage à leur mère, qui était un chef d’exception en Thaïlande. Originaire de la région de Phetchabun réputée pour la culture du tamarin, elle les emmenait chaque année choisir les meilleures variétés pour parfumer ses plats avec cette saveur subtile, à la fois sucrée et acidulée, véritable signature de ce fruit emblématique.

De cette soif commune de partager leur histoire sont nés des plats qui allient avec justesse tradition et créativité. Leur cuisine évolue au fil de leurs rencontres, tout en étant fidèle à ce qui leur ressemble : une générosité toute en élégance.